Some believe that it is good for a country's culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think that it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial issue about the content of movies and television programs. Some culturalists suggest presenting the local culture more frequently in this content, while some social workers believe that foreign media content should also be available in the same volume. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agrees with the idea of equal multiculturalism on TV.

Let us start with the reasons why some culturalists state that authorities should stimulate interest in regional culture by giving a priority to the national video content. The first justification is that people have different preferences in video content. It rarely happens that all TV viewers enjoy local media, because mostly they prefer various programs, such talk shows and soap operas, made in other countries with their specific style. Another reason is that diversity in TV programs lead to multiculturalism. International media industry normally promotes the tolerance to both customs and traditions, so prioritizing domestic culture on media would destroy harmonic relationship between nations. Furthermore, it may offend the feeling of cultural minorities. Many countries are usually multicultural, so these communities will resent, if officials deprive them of cultural choice on TV.

However, some social workers claim that, regardless of being imported, the cultural diversity on TV should be maintained further. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it can boost the public interest in national culture. Concentrating movies and TV shows around the local culture may raise the desire of minor social groups in learning it as well as participating in national festivals. Secondly, it also can encourage people to learn the official language. Many cultural groups are reluctant to study the official language, but the widespread usage of it on TV would make them less resistant. Moreover, movies with local cultural aspects may trigger patriotism. Many countries regularly encounter the problem with the lack of patriotism, but with the help of culturally-orientated movies, they would start to love the motherland and contribute to its prosperity.

In conclusion, even though some culturalists argue that the government should focus TV content on promoting domestic culture, I think that it should enable a wide range of choice, no matter whether or not it is imported.