Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of put behind the bars

To what extend do you agree?

It is essential to provide some sought of punishment to the criminals in order to control the crime rate in the country. Few people assert that offender of certain crimes, must made to do some community service activities, without being paid for that, rather than putting them in jail. I completely agree that offender of minor crimes should serve their sentence by involving in community services.

The predominate benefit of involving the criminals, specially juvenile and person who has committed minor crime like pick pocketing, is allowing them to become the part of the society. Many a times they feel neglected, and often re-offend when released from bars. If they are allowed to do the community services, like working in temples, serving the old age and orphan children's, they will become considerate about others. This activities will definitely help to change the mindset and cultivate positive thinking, might also helpful in develop some values in them. Therefore, involving offenders in community service will unequivocally help in controlling the crime rate.

Another point to consider, is the negative impact of putting the offender's in jail. It will have detrimental effect on the overall thinking, because in bars they will mix with other criminals and thrive more negative things. In other words, they will more ideas of committing different crimes. The main purpose of punishing the criminal is to make them realize there mistakes and so that they feel guilt for the act performed. If they will be surrounded by another criminals the purpose will not be served, as they will feel that everybody is doing the same deeds. Hence, putting in bars is not solving the issue, infect will have adverse effect on the person's mind.

In conclusion, I believe that by getting involved in unpaid activities for society, criminal of minor offend will change their way of thinking and crime will be decline, because they will not feel isolated. Moreover, punishing by putting them in jail will not ripe any advantage.