Some people think that children should use e-books to learn reading while others prefer printed material.

Discuss both and give your opinion

It is believed by a certain populace that children should use e-books to learn reading, while others who take a contrarian view, and believe printed material should be used to learn. Although a discussion of both these views is worthwhile, In my opinion, traditional books must be preferred because of the ill-effects of reading e-books from handheld devices.

To begin with, some parents are attracted to e-books as it offers helpful features, that aid learning. The voice-text reader, which reads the text from the screen, helps children to learn pronunciation even if they are not familiar with the given word. Adding to this, it is easy to carry a device on a holiday trip rather than carrying several books. For example, my nephew loves reading his favourite comics while travelling; e-books help us to avoid carrying multiple comics. Hence, after looking at the features of e-books, one cannot avoid using them.

However, I agree with those who avoid e-books because of the adverse impact of the e-readers on children's vision. Staring a screen continuously for a few hours may results in the eye strain since the backlight of handheld devices are not user-friendly. Moreover, children already are overusing devices such as TV and mobile phones, and if parents start preferring e-books, it is going to worsen the scenario. According to a survey by the Hindustan Times, 7-15 years old are spending approximate 8 hours on an average in front of the TV. Therefore, using the traditional way of learning helps to decrease the on-screen time.

To conclude, although people vary in their opinions, I believe that after looking into the adverse impact on eyes of the handheld devices it can be easily sad that the paper printed material is the better than e-books.