Some people think that the effective way to reduce industrial pollution is to tax the companies which cause them. Others think that there are better ways to do so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Industrial pollution is posing to be a serious threat to our environment. As per the recent survey, there is a 27 per cent rise in the factories globally. Thus some people suggest that the best way to tackle industrial pollution is to tax them while others believe that there are a plethora of alternative ways to reduce it. I will elucidate both sides and put forward my opinion.

Firstly taxation is thought to be the most lucrative method to stop industrial pollution as it is commonly believed that heavy penalties will help to reduce environmental contamination. In developing countries like India and China, this strategy had failed to induce any positive results as the factory owners somehow find a way to bribe the local government officials.

On the other hand, I believe that it will not be the taxation policies but the incentive policies which can help to bring positive results in curbing industrial pollution. To elucidate the incentive policies will motivate factory owners and corporates to meet the minimum set standard of carbon emissions set as a guideline. In countries like Turkey where the corporate tax is around 30 %, the local government is providing incentives to a local industry which meet the carbon emission standard by providing them with a reduction of 10% in the annual corporate tax. Similarly, in countries like China and Japan, companies are converting toxic waste into electricity and thus this electricity is bought exclusively by the government at a higher rate to support the cause of reduction of industrial pollution.

To conclude as per the above explanation it is evident that the introduction of incentive policies will prove to be a more effective way than implying taxation policies to reduce environmental pollution.