Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a students level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their ability.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

As education systems develop and become more sophisticated, more attention is paid to how students perform in class. However, while some think that the best way to do this is testing, others feel that this causes only strain for young pupils.

On the one hand, supporters to formal exams say that there are a number of good arguments in favour of formal testing. Teachers today are under a lot of strain to prepare and execute effective lessons, which takes a lot of time. Being provided with exams could be a simple way of assessing the level of many students at the same time. Moreover, with class sizes increasing year upon year, it may be the only way that some teachers have of evaluating one particular student's abilities. Also, it is sometimes said that having standardised tests means that schools can compare their results and understand where improvements need to be made.

On the other hand, I side with those who feel that exams do very little other than cause stress. Children, especially young ones, develop at different rates, and giving a child a test at a very early age may cause them to be wrongly labelled as "poor" when actually they are simply less developed. This can have a detrimental effect that can last for the rest of the child's education life. Moreover, in my opinion, pupils often find being assessed such a traumatic experience that the results may show us nothing more than that people perform badly under pressure.

In conclusion, although exams are a quick way of assessing ability, I believe that they often wrongly label students as low-achievers. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that tests do not really tell us anything significant about the level of a child's learning.