It is true that the emergence of GM food has been achieving many breakthroughs in the farming development process. Nonetheless, this step has also provoked a wave of controversy amongst scientists and users about whether its actual impacts on human society are positive or negative. The essay will discuss both sides of the problem before arriving at the conclusion.

On the one hand, the effectiveness in Gm crops is proved through producing numerous new kinds of agricultural commodities, including cattle, vegetables, and fruits. These newly altered genes could have the superior features that allowed the later generation to grow and reproduce faster or survive in extreme weather conditions, help increasing the productivity as well as the quality of products. For example, some vegetables have longer shelf lives which are much convenient in shipping to remote areas or countries suffering from disasters. As a matter of fact, genetically modified planting progress has put a milestone in biological research all over the world, leading to other significant discoveries that primarily make it a thriving industry.

On the other hand, it is admitted that genetically engineering food is a relatively new practice, little is known about the long-term effects and safety. Some people believe that GM foods are more potential to trigger allergic reactions or even the risk of cancer. However, the authorities have set the guidelines and appropriate laws for GM food manufacturers to put these goods in consumption.

In summary, there has been a hot-debated topic of developing genetically modified engineering but I am optimistic about the prospects of this field as well as the way which scientists monitor its adverse effects.