Some people think that government spending on the restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead, they should spend the money on housing and road development. To what extent do you agree?

Although it is thought by some that it is more important to spend money for housing and road development than spending on the restoration of old buildings by the government, I believe the government should allocate money for protecting heritage buildings.

There is no doubt that housing and road development projects are important. Most of the cities are bustling with traffic due to poor road planning and infrastructure issues. Moreover, the lack of housing is also a pressing matter in the majority of cities. If governments do not allocate money for such developments in cities it would affect the people. Since the population is growing rapidly, their transportation and housing requirements are also increasing. Proper development of such facilities improves the quality of life profoundly in the cities as well as it has other significant advantages such as time-saving, better environmental protection due to less traffic and mainly people's happiness level would be increased.

Nevertheless, no matter how developed the country is, if there is no preserved history, it wouldn't be considered as a great country. In fact, old and historical buildings can be identified as snapshots of history. Therefore, it is the government's responsibility to protect and restore such buildings. For instance, in many cities, such buildings have become very popular tourist attractions making an exponential amount of income to the country's economy. In addition, people should have some iconic building to be proud of their past and which helps to educate children as well. Therefore, preserving old building has an equal significance as building roads and housing in terms of countries development and overall happiness of people.

In conclusion, although road and housing development are important, the government should not stop spending money on restoring old buildings as such building contribute greatly to the country.