Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere

To what extend do you agree with this view?

Effective utilization of government funds is essential for the growth of the nation. Few people assert that state should not waste the funds on the arts, and this funds must be utilized in other sectors, which are more important for the growth of the nation. I do not agree with notion and strongly believe that expenditure on arts is pivotal, which has numerous benefits and must not be ignored.

To begin with, Government budget is planned by the committee and it is properly allocated to different segments. Sectors like health, education and economy are given more importance and proper money is allocated to this segments. Funding for the Arts of the country is not that high and mostly whatever expenditure is done is extremely essential. If heavy amount is spend on Arts and others major sectors are ignored, than it requires some alteration, but this is not the case in most countries. For example, in India not more than 5 percentage is allotted to the development of the art in the country. Therefore, spending on Arts is not that high and it will not deprive growth of other segments.

Moreover, spending on arts has various advantages, and it will help in the nation's development. The predominate reason is preservation of ancient culture and tradition of the nations. Ancient artifacts requires proper preservation, which is not possible without funds. If proper funds are not provided to the arts, our coming generation will completely loss its culture, whereas primitive things holds special value and it help's the nation to have distinct identity in the world. Furthermore, it is helpful in boosting the tourism in the country. People often travel different places to explore something unique and new around the world. Additionally, it will increase the employment opportunities for the youth, which is unequivocally important for economical growth. Hence, this spending on arts is not at all waste, whereas useful for nation's growth.

In conclusion, in my opinion development of art is the area which requires governments attention and proper funding, because of merits like development of tourism and employment generation.