Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that art is an integral part of any nation’s culture. In the race of globalization and urbanization many countries are spending a huge money on the art. Masses are citing that governments are squandering money on art instead of using for better purpose. I stand on the side of these people, because, although, art is a part of heritage, but it is not only module that resonates the country.

First of all, art reflects the history and evolution of that country, but without basic development, need of spending an enormous amount on it is preposterous. Development means, enriching people under poverty and providing jobs. Governments can invest that money in industries and create jobs as a result the unemployment rate will decrease and increase the GDP of the nation. Even though art increase tourism which will benefit countries, providing jobs prevail over the profit produced by the tourists. In brief, development of basic needs of the people should be prioritize than investing in art

Another point worth noting is, the money which governments has is from people who are paying taxes, instead of spending on art they can improve the standards of living in the country. In terms of good health, education and infrastructure many countries are lagging. As these are basic amenities that a citizen should deserve, they need to spend cretin amount on them. Investing in these modules not only make people to change their lifestyle but also increase the health of the nation. it has been seen in many developed countries spend a big part of their budget on providing social services such as free education and health. Canada for example has spent half of their budget on free services and 2.5 % on arts as the money come from people who are paying taxes, they thought that spending in art is not important than spending on citizens welfare services

As a conclusion, clearly art is not the only way to project the country, improved lifestyle and good basic needs will show the country's health. I strongly agree with the people who think that governments should spend money on other developments instead of arts