More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

As health plays an increasingly more central role in our lives, it has been suggested that there has been an unprecedented incline in people becoming obese in certain demographical regions. While some say, to eradicate this phenomenon it is better to increase the price of junk food, however, that might not solve the problem and could lead to other issues. So, I disagree with this assertion

Food with a high amount of fat is tasty to eat can be addictive. Obesity and heart attacks are typical examples of health issues which can be caused by over consumptions of junk food. Increasing the price on these foods will have a temporary impact on the situation which is not a permanent solution. As the food industry is growing day-by-day competition between companies will force them to prepare new kind of substance which can be cost optimized which could result in some devastating results. So, instead of increasing prices on food, it will be more efficient if the rules of the government are stringent such as enabling the public to know the nutrition facts and creating awareness of a healthy diet.

One more point to be noted is, in this fast-moving world, people are more tend towards money as it has an upper hand on almost everything, as a result, the people always look for cheap food which is usually not healthy. This can be exemplified in the increasing number of working professionals in the UK resort to buy ready-made meals for convenience instead of cooking at home. This exposes them to fatty food. So instead of increasing the cost of food companies should be responsible to provide good food to employees.

Increasing the price of fat-foods is not always a solution, for shunning the problem of over-weight. People always have a choice of selecting good and bad. At a stage, our body will let know us that it reached the thresholds so that we will be careful in choosing the food. it is a shared responsibility of individual and government to choose correct food for the body and to provide good awareness of food.