Nowadays food travels thousands of miles before reaching consumers. It affects the agriculture and economy of the destination country, and for this reason people should prefer food produced by local farmers. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your experience.

It is an irrefutable fact that in most of the countries agriculture is the backbone of the economy. These days’ foreign foods are affecting native food industry as well as the economy of the countries. I agree with the proposition that people should give preference for local food which is produced by the farmers. This essay will give the reasons and illustrations to support my agreement.

One Prominent reason to encourage in-house food is, it is inexpensive to buy locally produced than buying a foreign imported food. External food has a lot of taxes which include transport and gateway, so these consumables have high rates. Moreover, the money which we spend on the local food will help the farmer or the government, but if we buy foreign goods the money is redirected to some plutocrats. Furthermore, people can buy more quantity at the same price. It is said that people in India can buy one kilo of rice which can feed 4 people with the price on a noodles box. Thus, in short, native foods is cost-effective than foreign foods

One more attribute that put forward as the main reason for preferring local food markets is health factor. As the food which is made by other countries, it needs to travel long distance either by sea or land, they are often included with preservatives and chemicals so that they can be stored longer time. These preservatives are not only harmful to the human body but also makes them obese. This is illustrated in the increasing number of people are suffering from obesity due to the massive consumption of instant food which is not an Indian. As this food has a chemical called B147 which is used as a preservative can affect the body with the blood group B positive. Therefore, food from outside the country is harmful to health.

In conclusion, farming is the most critical variable to support the country’s economy which is now affected by non-native food. I strongly agree that people should prefer locally grown food because it will help to increase the country’s economy and does not affect health.