Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Crime became a severe social issue in many countries. It has been suggested that there has been an unprecedented incline in people who re-offend and getting back to prison after their first sentence. In my opinion, understanding the probable reasons for this phenomenon is important and may lead us to some applicable solutions that will result in reducing people getting back to prison.

One of the most prominent factors that lead people to re-offend is lack of rehabilitation. First-time criminals are not given proper rehabilitation and guidance to live good in society. As they are surrounded by other criminals, the knowledge and the acquaintance they gain in prison are often criminals, so they are not given a chance to earn good thought. Another point worth considering is the conduct of the person. After releasing from jail, they are often unemployed due to the sentence they spent in jail. So they find some tough times to earn enough money to sustain. As a result, they will make some crime regardless of the consequences.

There are some effective solutions to eradicate these issues. One way to tackle the problem is to make sure that all the criminals entering into the prison are given proper guidance to change themselves by providing rehabilitation process. By this, they will have good thoughts and find a better way to live. Another way to shun the problem of criminals is to train them in their specific skills. Every person has a skill, prisons should be capable of identifying those key skills and train them so that they can stand on their feet after releasing, and as a result, they are less likely to do the crime as they will be self-employed. These solutions will hopefully prevent them to commit more crimes.

In conclusion, having rehabilitation sessions and improvising the skills of the criminal in jail are the two best solutions to restrict this phenomenon. If the governments implement these problems the crime rate will surely decrease