Young people these days tend to be less polite and respectful than in the past. Give the cause.

As discipline plays an increasingly more central role in society, it has been observed, that there has been decline in conduct in adolescents not only in term of politeness but also in giving respect to others. There are several reasons behind this tendency which will be discussed further.

One main factor that put forward as a prime reason for this behavioral change in youngsters is, globalization, as world is becoming like a global village, mixing of cultures resulting in disturbing by-products. Most of the people in India are attracted towards westernization and trying to mimic them. Even though, it got some advantages like freedom of living and women empowerment, it also got some detrimental trends like short-temper and disobeying elders. Therefore, the composition of cultures with respect to behavior of people cannot be underestimated. However, this is just a tip of an iceberg.

Another variables to be considered as prominent causes for this happening is, parental education and technology. In today’s contemporary era, most of the families are double salaried, and in the process of running behind money, people are ignoring children, as a consequence they are more intended towards over use electronic gadgets and internet to over-come the alienation, which leads to change in attitude towards society . Our past generation, for example, used to work in nine-to-five jobs, and went home every day to eat and chat with their children about the day. This millennial, in contrast often employed in digital nomads, working on sporadic timings and lack of routine, results in different way of attitude towards children to our ancestors.

Despite there are many reasons that leads to the change in attitude of young people, composition of different cultures , parenting and technology are main causes. It is all in the hands of senior family members, to mitigate this issue, they need set a good example to youngsters by spending some quality time with them in a meaningful way.