Some people think that having a set of retirement age (eg. 65 years) for everybody regardless of occupations is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an early age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most of the developed world is now experiencing unprecedentedly aging populations, due to, in part, better healthcare and lower fertility rates. One inevitable result is that the line between working and retirement ages is being put into question, which is currently fixed at 65 for most of the developed world.

With larger diversity in the retiring population, it is indeed becoming clearer now that a one-size-fits-all approach might have been wrong from the get-go. Having a firm physiological threshold as the only criterion for retirement seems to overlook the variation across different occupations. For example, the physiological impact of working as a porter for 45 years has arguably way more health ramifications than tutoring for the same period. By the time workers in the more physically-demanding jobs get to retire, they might be less physically equipped to pursue their interests as geriatrics.

On the other hand, from an economic point of view, pension benefits are seen as reimbursements for past day workers for taxpaying and giving to the community. Building on this logic, there should be an early pension path made available to workers who can manage to produce significantly higher than the national average, should they choose at some point to rather go after cultural and spiritual endeavors.

In summary, having a fixed retirement age fails to address the great variations across both the natures of different occupations and the very working population. By further defining the economic and social rationale behind the merits of retirement, we should strive to propose new schemes to assess workers' eligibility for early retirement.