Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Partly brouhgt to attention by the popularity of advertisements, the psychology of persuasion has become a main interest of social psychologists. As the growing evidence continues to solidify, however, the debate over its actual power is far from being resolved in the public eye.

Skeptics of a somewhat overhauled impact of commercials argue that, after all, the habituative quality of humans would play a decisive role. In fact, the more fequently advertisers attempt to utilize the purportedly over-reaching mediators of persuasion, the more the majority of people would simply learn to ignore them. Indeed, this can be witnessed in the circulating sarcastic reception of some ads. They point out that redundancy can ultimately be guaranteed to deter listeners from receiving the message.

Contrarily, others tend to focus on the power of repetition in forming unconscious habits, let alone exploiting already present associations in creating artificial preferences. A manifestation of this is advertisers' choices to include celebrities in their street billboards ads, for instance, regardless of how relevant to the commercialized objects their repertoires are. It seems that they make use of the conditioning nature of the human psyche to reinforce their products, thus giving them more appeal.

Drawing on the prementioned evidence, several studies did address the concerns over persistent commercializing. They found arbitrary links of this kind to be, in some cases, of true significance in some purchasing choices, among others. However, the mere presence of the effect is still not sufficient to support the almost mythical nature of its portray in the media.

Personally, I would be keen on mentioning the role of awareness, too. Even if the methods of advertising prove powerful and regardless of the magnitude of that power, a conscious intervention is still likely to arise from the apprehension of the different factors in play. For this reason, while both views have highlighted some noteworthy points, the truth lies, on balance, somewhat between the two extremes.