Some people think that having a set retirement age (eg. 65 years) for everybody regardless of occupation is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree?

Which type of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is believed that fixing a general age to retire, like 65 years, is not a recommendable idea for all jobs notwithstanding their working environments. Instead, some consider that people should be allowed to resign enjoy their life with pension at a providential time of their career, which can be well below the set standards. In my opinion, I agree completely to this since, not the age but the psycho-physical health of a person should be the criteria for deciding the retirement time for a person.

Firstly, the type of work and mental stress taken upon by an employee give him the prerogative to decide the time to end his professional career. For example, a manual labourer who has spent most of his life and health for his job or a war-hero whose physical and mental ability to pursue his military career, should have all the right for an early retirement and pension benefits. This it is clear that certain set of people ought to be considered and allowed to enjoy their retirement life, taking into account their inevitable service for the society and their incompetency to continue their life at work.

Secondly, workers should be given their right to make retirement call, especially for critical service jobs like that of pilots and national security personnel. It is obvious that the ability to champion these kinds of jobs requires high level of havoc management skills and sharp acumen. Being human, a person’s ability to take on these emergency handling services gets deteriorated with age. Hence it is advised that people should be allowed to step down from critical service jobs at early age according to their will.

In conclusion, it is clear that a generalised set retirement age may not work in all the cases, but people’s will to end their service early should be a good solution in jobs with higher physical and mental strain.