Some people think that it is important to have a single language as an international official language. Others think that it will make it difficult to identify countries and cause a loss of culture. What are your opinions on this?

There is an increase in using an international language in recent decades, due to globalization.Some oppose that the development of a single language leads to depleting culture and a loss of local linguistic knowledge. I believe it is beneficial to use an international language without detaching from our own language and culture.

To begin with, many countries already use an official language which further removes all the language barriers among them and results in the betterment of citizen’s living standards. In fact, it is really advantageous for students as they can get global exposure which would help them in promoting their career prospects and raising their social status. Moreover, international trade would never have been expanded without an official language. In this sense, an international language is crucial for trade, commerce and economic expansion. For example, many multinational companies are hiring people from all over the world as communication is no longer an issue to conduct business due to one specific language. Consequently , It is bringing all the nations together.

On the other hand, the critics opposing the adoption of a single language argue that it would vanish cultural identity. For instance, a recent research carried out by ‘ New York Times’ shows that the new generation does not show keen interest in native language as they prefer to have a specific language. Hence, these can put a negative impact on native cultural values and importance which leads to loss of culture. Therefore, a universal language could be unwelcoming as the reason for the extinction of identity.

In conclusion, our world becomes a global village and the need for an official international language seems unavoidable. So, I believe usage of a particular one language is necessary to facilitate communication among different nations to enhance bonding in a time of rapid globalization.