Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A section of people opine that making high school kids study literature is waste of their valuable time. I disagree to an extent with opinion while learning STEM related subjects during our high school years is important but we might never find another opportunity to learn our rich literarure once we move on from high school.

Firstly, in today's modern society high school students are getting pressured on being more

competitive in schools and there is also a bigger push for only adding stem realted subjects to curriculum. In other words non-stem subjects like literature doesn't get that importance which is concerning. Students are stressed when they study Science and Technology related subjects they should get some breather by reading novels or poems which will boost their mind

and confidence levels by relasing stress and makes them be creative to learn technical subjects. For example, In my high school our we had a literature class replaced by math class

all the time and we where unable to concentrate on either because we where already burnt out learn more about same subject.

Secondly, I agree that reading too much litreature is a little waste of time in high school because we never come across questions like what is you favorite novel or poem in competitive

exams or admission interviews. Another reason being we try to make our children be more innovative than creative but on the contray both work hand in hand. For example, if you see

most of the innovation tech founders are book worms they love to read inspiration novels and

creative poems. One such example is Elon Musk founder of Tesla always try to innovate products

based on early literature with mix of science.

To conclude, as discussed above stem subjects can come in handy for getting into university but to relive stress and improve creativity students might need to spend some quality time on

litreature as well and find that balance.