Some people think that it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

Some people reckon that teaching parenting skills to children at school level is the best way to make them a commendable parent. I completely agree with the statement and in my opinion, acquiring knowledge about child upbringing at an early age helps to provide a secure and healthy childhood to the coming generation. Moreover, rational thinking, co-operative nature and skilled education are also required to become a sterling parent.

To begin with, there are a plethora of benefits associated with the learning of parenting skills as part of secondary education. Firstly, the ethical values taught during the subject sessions make the students aware of social threats such as drugs, child trafficking, sexual harassment and child abuse, which will help them to protect their future child from these evils and will be able to provide them with a secure environment. To illustrate, considering the increased rate of crimes related to children, the government of Japan has made parenting classes mandatory in high schools, in order to generate awareness about social threats at an early age.

Secondly, the healthy upbringing of a child largely depends upon the food and diet, therefore, if the youngsters will get proper education about the importance of a healthy lifestyle during their course studies then they will assuredly be able to raise their child in a nutritive way.

There are ample of other skills that an individual needs to acquire to become a doting and responsible guardian. Primarily, with the advancement of modern culture, the coming generation has become independent and rational, therefore, to understand their demands parents need to develop the quality of broad-mindedness and co-operation. Next, another skill required to achieve the status of sterling mother or father is education. An educated parent can teach their juvenile the traditional and ethical values that bind them to their basic roots and also nourishes their overall personality.

In conclusion, to raise a child in an effective manner the knowledge about healthy diet and awareness about social threats is quintessential and it should be provided as a school curriculum.