Some people think that large international sporting events only brings drawbacks, and that it is not worth hosting them. Do you agree or Disagree

Over the years, every time a country hosts an international sport event, this has led to unfavorable consequences for the host nation. I completely agree with the opinion that these events don’t contribute in any way to real progress and development.

Whenever a country takes up the responsibility of hosting a world class event such as Olympics or World Cups, the sports authorities and the government bend backwards (put in a lot of extra effort) to accommodate the challenges posed by these events. They build structures and stadiums to host the sporting events, eventually, the constructions remain unused because they don’t serve the purpose anymore and they also damage the local environment because they have used precious natural resources for a short term benefit. This in turn hampers or slows down the growth of the economy because of the excessive spending that was undertaken. For instance, when China hosted the Olympics in the year 2008, millions of Chinese were displaced from their homes and the construction costs led to serious fiscal deficit to the nation’s economy.

During the London Olympics in 2012, many tourists who were present to witness the games tried to stay back in the country long after their tourist visa expired in order to gain employment. This poses a serious threat to the country’s security and can lead to the rise of anti-social elements. Another major concern with undertaking events of such grandeur is that, the authorities involved may indulge in corruption rather than focusing on managing or executing these effects effectively, as observed during the Commonwealth Games conducted in Delhi, India.

In conclusion, the abovementioned reasons substantiate why such events only bring in drawbacks.