Some people think that libraries are a waste of resource and money and should be replaced by computers. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The world has changed and this is an era of technological advancements. Nowadays, you don’t even need to go to a bookstore to purchase a book and can simply purchase or borrow it from a digital library on your cell phone or Amazon Kindle device. However, not all people like to read the digital version of the books yet and still prefer to hold and read physical books. Hence, I don’t think that we should consider libraries a complete waste yet as they are still very useful for a large group of population. This essay will discuss both aspects as per my understanding and will produce a conclusion.

Owing to the fact that computers are being used by a mass population, therefore it can’t be denied that very few people would want to visit a library in near future as everything will be available at the tip of their fingers. However, that time is not now because there is also a vast group of people living among us which isn’t very keen to learn about computers and other devices and prefers the old ways.

Libraries have a unique place in the heart of book-lovers as they find a broad variety of new books and magazines on a regular basis. A library contains thousands of books, magazines and other materials and visiting them, gives the readers instant access to all of it. Even though electronic books can be accessed very easily, not many readers find the same experience which they find with physical books.

In essence, now is not the time to replace the libraries with computers as many readers not just like to read the books but also like to hold them in their hands along with the smell of the pages to feel what’s written inside. Although computers are very essential in our lives there still remains a vast variety of population which doesn’t want to spend their whole day using it and soring their eyes.