Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people’s private life, while other’s think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

Opinions differ as to whether newspapers hold the right to publicize people’s personal life or a strict control should be put upon such an action. This essay will discuss two opposing ideas.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people support the publishment private details on newspapers. One reason is that some individuals, especially celebrities and political figures, would want to have their name widely known. Thus, they would allow newspapers to write articles about their daily healthy routines in order to cultivate interests from the mass population. For example, the publicity of a prominent politician’s pastimes of charity or helping the elderly would significantly boost his credibility among all citizens, especially his supporters. Likewise, an article of a musician showing that he also regularly spends time on drawing on the weekends would showcase his talents and attract more fans.

On the contrary, there are valid reasons for newspapers to be controlled on exposing people’s private life. Firstly, the flaw aspects of individuals should not be shared publicly as it will damage their images. For instance, a news about the love affair of an actress will cause a massive scandal resulting in a decrease of her reputation. Similarly, an extravagant life of a royal member when unveiled would bring an abomination to him and the entire royal family. Moreover, uncontrolled publicity of private details means that people’s lives are being illegally invaded and recorded, which may be against their will and certainly violate the law of privacy. Therefore, every publisher should be strongly restricted in recording and sharing private lives unless they acquire people’s permission.

In conclusion, while some people accept the news coverage of their personal life for promoting purposes, others believe publishers should be strictly controlled as non-permitted publicity of private details might rather harm their reputation.