Some people think the modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has recently been argued that whether new technology has affected people’s interpersonal skills positively or negatively. Many people claim that the state-of-the-art technology-the Internet in particular- has made individuals of greater communication skills whereas others take a dim view of such an idea. While I agree that it seems people could have been making more friends through using the Internet at a first glance, they have becoming more and more alone in reality.

Technology has provided any so-called internet users with the chance of making different people’s acquaintance. Firstly, they could forge a substantial number of relationships with people from every corner of the globe. Needless to say, hardly could anyone have been in touch with people from faraway places if they had not have access to the Internet. Secondly, many youngsters have been sharing their emotions in the virtual world which in-turn makes them feel talking to a friend. Finally, there are many individuals who rely on people as their close confidants although they might have never met them in person nor will meet in the future.

However, the growth in the rate of depression specially among juveniles would be a symptom of their disordered sort of communications. Many people lock themselves up in their rooms sitting back at their laptops and chatting with strangers nowadays. They think they are surrounded with many friends but the simple truth is they feel alienated in their schools, offices and even their homes. They mainly get used to put a distance between themselves and their families or friends. To be more exact, opening your heart to your mother seems to become impossible today, let alone to your friends. The facts mentioned above lead me to believe technology has actually afflicted people concerning communication skills.

In essence, even though social media, the Internet and technology at large have apparently increased the number of humans’ friends, they have actually deteriorated people's social abilities. I would reaffirm my position that technology has done more harm than good to humanity with regard to their social skills.