Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A significant number of individuals believe that guardian should educate their pupils on how to be good members of society, although, others consider that an educational institute is the most suitable location to absorb such skills. This essay will discuss both the views followed by an opinion.

On the one hand, it is believed that parents are the only one who can understand the attitudes of their offspring and may stand up their mischievous manners. Therefore, mothers and fathers can play a key role in setting their children straight when they go off track because children are more likely to listen to their parents as they consider them as heroes and paragons. Children imitate their parents in many aspects and this makes parents the ideal persons to inculcate good ethics and morals to their young buds. For example, a study that was carried out by Yale University revealed that more than 80% of delinquents in Michigan had a lack of parental guidance and surveillance.

Teachers are considered the most qualified educators, as they are professional and trained for that purpose. Hence, teaching good manners in schools can be highly effective. Mostly all students listen to their teachers in the classroom and follow discipline during learning practices, thus educating how to be the good members of society can be easily achieved in the school environment. For instance, a recent survey from the School education board has revealed that 70 per cent of students learn good manners in school and remember it for a lifetime.

In conclusion, while mentors are professional in teaching thus skills, I believe that parent is more close to their children and they know them more thoroughly than any other individual, therefore they should take responsibility of teaching good member skills of society.