In today’s materially driven world, when a person starts looking for career options, salary is one of the main variable for an individual. One needs a sufficiently high paying job to maintain a decent social standard and meet the needs of one’s family. This write up endeavors to provide an insight as to how money and other factors play a decisive role in acceptance of a job offer!

In my opinion, salary should take primacy over everything else while deciding about a job offer. My reasons are as follows:

1. The cost of living in most places and more so in metros, continue to rise slowly and steadily. Therefore, to meet the most basic needs of food, shelter and clothing, a working professional needs a well-paid job even at the cost of stepping out of his comfort zone e.g. an IT professional with a PQE of 5-7 years, gets paid approx. INR 10Lakhs per annum, which are just about sufficient for his family needs like rental/lease/home EMI, schooling, transportation & other personal needs. Unless he secures such a job, he shall neither be able to survive nor take care of his family.

2. A working person also needs to save for the rainy day for which one needs a sufficiently well-paying job.

3. Modern society is highly aspirational & to fulfill these aspirations, one needs funds which can only be obtained through a well-paying job.

Once the primacy of salary has been established, the following factors though secondary, also contribute towards determining the choice of a job:

1. Public sector jobs (though less paying) are more attractive due to their inbuilt job security, when compared to jobs in private sector

2. Employer reputation and HR practices of a private sector player are also a parameter while choosing a job.

3. Pay grade level & position on offer, role profile, promotion avenues, competency upskilling are some of the other aspects people tend to talk about and consider before accepting a job.

4. Working hours, commute time, work life balance, work flexibility, telecommuting/work from home options are other minor determinants while choosing a job

There is an old saying, “money makes the mare go”! Therefore, I can safely conclude that money is & will always remain the “deal breaker” when someone chooses a job, though other factors do play a secondary role in the process.