Some people think that people who are over 60 years old should not work and retire earlier. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The age of retirement has always been a topic of debate. To which, a few people believe that people of age 60 or over should accept volunteer retirement while others argue that age should not be a deciding factor. In my opinion, if someone is fit and fine then they should invest their time in guiding future generation and allow to work till they want.

To begin with, human body wore off by 60’s and becomes very weak. Higher post or any position for that matter demands a huge commitment and hard work, which is very difficult for old people as their body is weak and vulnerable to several diseases. For instance, majority of sick leaves are taken by elderly in most organization. Moreover, they should make room for new generation who are strong, confident and energetic to work around the clock. Besides, young people deliver exceptional flexibility and aware about the technological advancements in the market, which comes very handy in the growth of organization. Thus, people should be encouraged to retire after certain age.

However, senior citizens have several things to offer, which only comes with lifetime of experience. They possess deep understanding of the core value of any business because they were the part of it since its beginning, which will be very tough for a new comer. For example, many organization have their senior executives over sixties and were a part of the organization from a long time. Moreover, If someone is fit and fine, it violation of their right to work, which cannot be broken under any circumstances. Thus, it is not mandatory to retire after some arbitrary age.

In conclusion, if somebody is physically fit, the age is just a number and should be allowed to work as long as they want. Thus, rather than discriminating, we should learn to take advantage of their intelligence.