Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

<p style="margin-bottom: 1em; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-variant-numeric: inherit; font-variant-east-asian: inherit; font-stretch: inherit; font-size: 18px; line-height: inherit; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(102, 102, 102); white-space: normal;">It is often argued that the government-run libraries are not of much use these days. However, there are others who still feel that public libraries are serving a meaningful purpose in the and also shares my own perspective.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 1em; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-variant-numeric: inherit; font-variant-east-asian: inherit; font-stretch: inherit; font-size: 18px; line-height: inherit; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(102, 102, 102); white-space: normal;">There are two major reasons for the decreasing popularity of public libraries. Firstly, most public libraries are situated at the city center, and people find traveling to these libraries for borrowing a book quite cumbersome due to their busy schedule and frequent traffic congestion on the roads. Secondly, with the advent of the Internet and the proliferation of smartphones, ample information is available online, so there is no point in spending time in the library. For example, if a student wants to learn about the solar system, he might find a few books related to this topic in the library. On the other hand, if he looks it up on the web, he is likely to find abundant resources.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 1em; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-variant-numeric: inherit; font-variant-east-asian: inherit; font-stretch: inherit; font-size: 18px; line-height: inherit; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(102, 102, 102); white-space: normal;">Despite the above-mentioned reasons, there are several persuasive arguments in favor of the importance of public libraries. To begin with, not everyone can afford an expensive smartphone and the Internet, particularly students from economically disadvantaged families. For instance, my house cleaner’s son often visits the nearby public library in order to get free books, which his father cannot afford to buy with the meager salary he earns. Furthermore, these libraries represent the history of the city. When a tourist goes to a new place, he can visit a public library to pick up a map of the city or to learn about the history of the place.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 1em; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-variant-numeric: inherit; font-variant-east-asian: inherit; font-stretch: inherit; font-size: 18px; line-height: inherit; font-family: Arial, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(102, 102, 102); white-space: normal;">In conclusion, I believe both arguments are relevant. On balance, in my opinion, government-run libraries are becoming obsolete because of the advancement in information technology and the lack of time as the general public finds it time-consuming to go to a library. Even so, libraries are helpful for people who cannot access the internet.</p>