Some people think that robots are very important nowadays, but others are worried about the trend of robotisation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the era of 4th industrial revolution, robotic technology are likely to become prevalent in humans day to day life. In this modern day and age, robots are being used in household activities, as well as in large scale manufacturing and assembling processes. However, some people argue that robots may have a negative impact in the future and others believe vice-versa. In my perspective, I opine that the merits of this trend will outweigh the demerits and robotic engineering will be beneficial in our future developments.

To begin with, there are few concerns as it to why people argue that robots may have an adverse effect on human life. Firstly, some believe that robots will have an adverse effect on the human workforce. With the significant rise in unemployment rates around the globe, people being replaced by automated robots such as self-serving machines and factory robots will have a counter-effect leading into social issues such as increase of poverty and crimes rate etc. Secondly, by using robotic technology, people will become dependent on robots, in their daily engagements and this will indirectly affect their basic social skills as they will have less interaction with daily life activities. So in the long run, people will be inactive and may encounter health issues such as obesity, diabetes and heart diseases. Finally, if these machines malfunction the magnitude of loss will be catastrophic and greater than any human error. Finally, as far as their efficiency is concerned, compared to humans, robots will always be unreliable as they lack intelligence and imagination.

On the flip side, despite the negatives, robotic technology has an immense set of positive impacts to the future society. The first and foremost, benefit of robots are that their ability to operate in locations such as depth of the sea or outer space exploration where humans are unable to reach. They can act as a bridge enabling humans to look beyond their visual boundaries. Robots could help people to cross the final frontiers where they could find an inhabitable planet for human settlement. Moreover, robots can be a used in medical care for surgeries and monitoring activities inside the human body. Furthermore, since robots are effective and fast unlike human beings, they can help humans in their daily activities creating free and extra time for people to spend with their near and dear ones, which will result in improving our quality of life. As far as manufacturing and assembling is concerned, robots can walk extensive hours with minimal maintenance without getting distracted or tired. Also, using robotics in military situations, warfare and law enforcement can minimize the risk to human life. Last but not least, from the fore mentioned points, it is proven that robots can make people’s life comfortable and convenient.

To put it in a nutshell, even though there are arguments which are favoring and against robots, it is clearly visible that robotic technology is here to stay. As every dark cloud has a silver lining, it is our responsibility to adopt the positive aspects of using robots to facilitate and accelerate the future developments.