Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

Some people believe that sorting students who have the same academics abilities is more beneficial for the children for their development. Others take the opposite view and say that all students should be educated together regardless of their abilities. Although allowing students with various learning abilities to participate in the same class have a great benefits of students’ development and opportunities to study, I prefer categorising students according to their academic performance owing to their advantages of studying speed and environment.

First, mixed abilities classes provide a suitable environment for children’s all-around development. These classes offer students opportunities to learn from each other so that they can develop the abilities that were absent from them. For example, a student who is good at math but week at art can help the students who are weak at math but gifted with art and vice versa. Moreover, it’s not difficult to realize that nowadays, some specialized schools are too focused on the student's achievements and scores and that they will prioritize the choice of students with good learning ability instead of those who good at art or have some talent that is not related to academic. As a result, those student won’t have the chance to study equally as others and allowing students with various learning abilities to participate in the same class will be a good way to solve this problem. However, studying in a mixed ability class also means that students will have more things to do. The more subjects they have, the more pressure they are under.

On the other hand, grouping pupils according to their academic ability can help teachers to work at the right speed to their students and to have a suitable lesson plans according to the student’s need and understanding. As to students, they would find it motivated to study favorite subjects, which brings efficiency in education and develop their actual talent. Moreover, selecting on their academic ability is clearly fairer. For example, why should a student, who has behaved badly the entire year, and got lower grades, be placed in a class with hard working dedicated students, which is absolutely unfair ? By sorting students according to academics performance , high-level groups may progress faster and lower level groups can benefit from a slower pace. Consequently, it can reduce a sense of insecurity from students who hardly catch up with their classmates and preserve students ‘self-esteem and confident at schooling environment. However, this method will probably increase the risk of biased, subjective schooling and not evenly developed brain students. Consequently, school-leavers will suffer some tremendous issues when they confront challenging real life circumstances.

In conclusion, it seem to me that students should study together but also have some classes focus on their major. With week students, schools should have some extra coaching for them so that students can develop comprehensively and yet maintain the effectiveness.