Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

It is considered by some that learning institutions such as schools ought to form classes from students with similar academic capabilities. However, other individuals are certain that it would be better to have mixed classes with students who possess different academic abilities. Although students with strong academic skills will enhance them faster studying around peers with similar abilities, I believe that it is more important to have mixed classes since it will not only boost every student’s soft skills but will also help considerably the students with mediocre abilities.

On the one hand, some people think that forming classes from students of similar academic capability is preferable because this will improve the learning process in terms of time and effectiveness. In other words, such students are more likely to have a similar level of knowledge and are less likely to ask questions that will bore the majority of a class, which will engage them faster in any class activity or assignment, such as group projects, presentations, research. As a result, their studying productivity will increase dramatically based on mutual interest caused by equal academic abilities. Recent research, conducted by the Pedagogical University of Calgary, found that students with similar academic skills who have studied alongside have at least a GPA of 4.00. However, I disagree with this opinion because studying in such classes may cause a high level of tension caused by competitiveness among such students.

On the other hand, other people claim that it is better for students to study in mixed classes because this will help them develop better soft skills. To put it simply, when there is a student in class who is struggling with Mathematics, they are very likely to be helped by their peer who is excellent at this subject. As a result, both students will feel much better about themselves and acquire such valuable social skills as compassion, tolerance, kindness, trust, humanity. To illustrate, according to a survey, conducted among high school teachers in Toronto, 96% of students who study in mixed classes demonstrate very well-developed senses of justice, humanity, and tolerance. I agree with this opinion, and I am also inclined to believe that mixed classes may help weaker students to believe that they are more capable than they think as they will see a positive example set by their peers with better academic abilities.

In conclusion, it is argued by some whether there should be mixed classes with students of different academic abilities or not. Although students in classes that consist of only those who demonstrate great learning abilities may study more effectively, I believe that having mixed classes is much more important because cohorts in such classes will not only acquire necessary academic knowledge but will also develop invaluable social skills such as tolerance, compassion, and kindness.