A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

One of the highly controversial issues relates to that of tourism. Nowadays tourism generates a significant portion of national income for many countries, but it has certain problems too, such as growth of crime rate. I strongly believe that although tourism can bring some negative drawbacks to a country, there is a considerable number of pluses to it.

There are some disadvantages of tourism, such as destruction of popular tourist destinations and development of illegal economic activities. For instance, ancient buildings, temples and monuments all over the world are often being damaged by bad-behaved tourists. What’s more, the presence of a considerable number of tourists with a lot of money to spend, increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities such as robbery and drug dealing. However, proper hospitality management and correct usage of tourism revenue by the local government can eliminate these disadvantages.

On the other hand, there are significant advantages of developed tourism industry, such as a boost in country’s economy and a large number of new job openings for the local people. Firstly, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, food and medical services. This way, tourism yields an additional income, greatly supporting the country’s economy. Secondly, tourism increases the level of employment by bringing new jobs. For instance, the influx of tourists results in a larger demand in restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services, exhorting business owners to hire more people for these positions.

To conclude, a significant number of countries in the world rely on tourism as a main source of economy boost. Although it can have certain negative effects such as destructive impact and growth of crime rate, it has an extremely positive influence on country’s economy and provides a large number of new jobs for the local people. I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.