In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends.

Why has this change occurred?

Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

In modern days, young people tend to spend their time with friends rather than with their close relatives. The major reason for that is that adults are much busier these days than in the past and dedicate too little time to their children. I believe that making minors do something against their will is a useless approach. However, I think that parents should encourage youngsters to be more home-loving persons by spending more quality time together.

In the modern world, adolescents tend to spend more time with their peers because parents are usually busy at work and fail to establish strong trustful relationships with their offsprings. As a result, children lose close connection with their parents and have no desire to be around them and spend time at home. A recent study found that only 15% of children whose parents work long hours prefer to spend their free time at home, while the dramatic 85% of teenagers would prefer going out with friends instead of being around their hard-working parents.

However, I am inclined to believe that parents should not apply strict rules which would require their offsprings to stay at home as it may cause emotional insecurity in them. I believe that parents must engage teenagers in some interesting activities or set out for a journey together in order to build a strong family bond between them and to encourage children to stay at home more often. For instance, the results of the survey, conducted in Boston High School, showed that 89% of teenagers would gladly stay at home more if they had closer relations with their parents.

To conclude, nowadays young adults prefer to spend their spare time with friends instead of their families. In my opinion, the main reason for that is the overall parent’s busyness which incapacitates them to build healthy strong relationships with their children. However, there is no reason to try to make minors do something against their desire. The best decision in tackling this problem would be for parents to set aside more time for their offsprings and spend it doing bond-building activities.