Advances in science and technology have made great changes to lives of ordinary people, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued.

What can the arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Various technological and scientific developments have tremendously enhanced our lifestyle and the way this is expanding, we are expected to have a far better lifestyle in the future than the current era. We have already ushered in a new era of previously unknown and unimaginable feats of technological development and the thanks go to the scientific discovery and invention alone. Despite this, arts, culture and traditions still have so much to teach us and this is why we still value arts and artists.

One thing arts teach us where science is silent is the appreciation of life. In science, there are a little value of beauty if something does not work. Thus a piece of abstract art has no meaning in science but has great stories to tell when we consider it an art. In the world of arts, beauty matter in and of themselves whereas in science, the only true measure is whether it works or not. Arts offer us a spiritual outlook of life while science teaches us just the opposite. We are surrounded by nature which is a rare combination or science and arts. If we leave out the arts and beauty from nature, it would become a dull theory of how molecules work together. To give an example, if we listen to the music of Mozart, we can learn about harmony and joy through the medium of music or if we read classical novels, the past world reveals itself to us. Moreover, when we look back at the stars in a dark night, we appreciate the beauty and arts have taught us to appreciate this beauty.

The great artists tell us about the true joys of life. Thus a classic book can teach us more about life than a biology book can. We do not need to understand arts to appreciate music, books or art exhibition but we need to understand scientific theories to understand how something really works. The artists reflect life and teach us to learn about our inner-value. When we start appreciating arts, we start living the life to its fullest and live for others.

So to say, science and technology have made our physical world more comfortable in this century and will keep bringing new wonders in our daily life, arts and humanities have taught us to appreciate life, to live for a reason.