Transport

Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this.

Discuss both sides and give our opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to that of air contamination. Some people believe that implementation of an international car-free day would be an efficient method of reducing of air pollution, whereas others claim that there are other, more effective, methods to do this. This essay will discuss why implementing of such day is a particularly positive idea, but why other methods, including implementation of strict laws for factories is a much more beneficial solution in terms of global changes.

Some people state that the problem of contaminated air could be effectively solved by implementing an international non-cars day, since cars are accounted for the largest contaminators of air on planet Earth. In other words, gas-powered vehicles emit exhaust fumes, which immensely contaminate air, and by forbidding them at least for one day in a year could make a great contribution in air purification. To illustrate, in 2016, Germany introduced a ‘Bike to work’ day every other month encouraging its citizens to use bicycles to commute to work. As a result, the percentage of pollution in the air indicated a steady decline, resulting in a dramatic drop from 60% to 25%.

However, I am inclined to believe that the major air contaminator is factories, which emit the sulfur-dioxide in tremendous proportions, and the best method to clean the air is to introduce a range of highly strict policies restricting the amount of dangerous sulfur-dioxide that can be released from them. For instance, Singapore has held the first place for having the cleanest air for 10 previous years due to introducing in 2009 a strict policy regarding the fumes exhausted from the country’s factories and plants.

To sum up, it is argued by some whether reducing the number of cars on the roads could help eliminate the problem of polluted air. This essay discussed why eliminating the problem of contaminated air by introducing a car-free day is a positive idea, but why restricting the emission of sulfur-dioxide from plants and factories is a much more beneficial idea, as this issue needs a more global approach.