Many people believe that the increasing number of cars in cities is the biggest source of pollution and waste. Others think that industries are the ones causing pollution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to that of environmental protection. Some people think that the increasing number of vehicles is the main source of pollution in cities, whereas others believe that factories and plants are the major pollutants. This essay will discuss why the role of fossil fuel-powered vehicles is undeniable in terms of polluting, but why industries, such as plants and factories, which emit hazardous fumes and create tons of garbage, should be accounted for the major pollutant in the cities.

Some people claim that cars that run on fossil fuel are responsible for various environmental problems, including air pollution and increasing amount of rubbish in cities. In other words, vehicles with fossil fuel-powered engines emit exhaust fumes, which have detrimental influence on the environment. A recent study found that with the development of engines that run on fossil fuels the emission of carbon dioxide into the air of metropolises around the world increased up to 78%. It goes without saying that vehicles contribute greatly to the pollution of air.

However, I am inclined to believe that although fossil-fueled cars are great contributors to the problems of polluted environment, the main contaminators are factories and plants. In other words, with the production of great amount of goods industries also create tons of toxic waste. What is more, chemical plants, power stations and oil refineries emit enormous amount of hazardous gases, which leads to the increase of carbon footprint and to the greenhouse effect. To illustrate, in Ukraine most factories keep failing to adhere the laws which regulate pollution by breaching the legal limit for air pollution. As a consequence, the air in this country is accounted for the most polluted in Eastern Europe.

To conclude, it is argued by some whether cars are the biggest pollutants on the cities or this role belongs to industries. This essay discussed why vehicles that run on fossil-fueled engines and emit carbon dioxide into the air make a huge contribution into the air pollution, but why industries, such as power stations and oil refineries, should be accounted for the major contaminators and sources of tons of garbage in cities.