Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to that of economic development. Many nations have a goal towards improvement of living standards, nevertheless few relevant social factors might be damaged. In my opinion, the advantages including improvements in public sector far outweigh drawbacks including lack of family time.

The main drawback of economy improvement is losing of family values and relations. In other words, developments require more time and intensive routine, and as a result people start working harder which leads to the loss of quality time with their families. A recent study found that in 2010 in the United States family connections decreased by 30% due to long hours at work. Consequently, family relations might be under affect in developed countries.

On the other hand, I believe that the main benefit of economic development will be improvement of public services, such as health, defense, employability and education. In other words, a country with working economy tends to increase investments and improvements over goods and services that will result in high living standards. For instance, Singapore holds third place among economically developed countries in terms of education and innovations. This is the reason why countries should have a mission statement towards improvements of public services.

To conclude, it is argued that countries with developed economies have issues with family relations and connections. I am inclined to believe while there some drawbacks such as loss of social values, the plus points of economy development, such as increase of public services far outweigh the negative ones.