Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a critical controversy related to the question of whether or not we should hold huge partities and celebrations. In this essay, I am going to outline the key features of both sides and then provide my personal view on the issue.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of offering parties considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that celebrations help people satisfy their needs to socialize with people around such as friends, relatives, colleagues and neighbors. It is also possible to say that these parties and celebrations benefit society. They mean to keep the traditions and culture within a community. One good illustration of this is the indispensibility of wedding or birthday parties. These are important events in a person's life and cannot be ignored.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact we spend too much for parties. People often have this opinion because many people seem to waste a lot on unnecessary stuff. Besides expenses for food and drink, huge amounts of money are spent on music, masters of ceremonies... A second point is that a few people tend to show off their wealth through parties. A particularly good example here is the wedding of children of some governmental officials. From newspapers, we learn that they have luxurious wedding riding first-class expensive super-cars or having royal dishes and wines.

In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that having parties and important celebrations is meaningful and should be maintained as long as we do not throw money through the window for pointless stuff.