It is believed that investing too much for celebrations such as wedding and birthday parties is pointless. However, it is also thought that these celebrations are needed in terms of individual and societal benefits. This essay discusses both views and then I give my personal perspective.

On the one hand, there are reasons to support the first view. Holding parties in general requires a variety of expenses. There are essential costs for food and drink. Other stuff to pay includes tips for famous MCs, singers who are usually invited from big cities. Further indispensible fees for tents, sound systems, light systems etc. are unavoided. In some cases, huge amounts of money are also used to buy gifts for the guests. All these expenses seem to mount double or triple in today modern age since people tend to show off a bit. The more money they spend, the higher their reputation is.

However, I am among those who favor the second view. Parties and celebrations still play a role with their certain significance. As for the hosts, those events mean necessary occasions for socialization. It is chance for having fun, having a good time, maintaining relationships among friends, relatives, colleagues, and neighbors. From the communial perspectives, parties and celebrations help to contribute to reservation of the long lasting customs and traditions. Without these ceremonies and festivities, comminities are obviously losing their precious practices passed on by their ancestors.

On the whole, both sides have their own merits. However my personal opinion is that no matter how expensive they may be, celebrations are still vital for people to mark their important milestone events in life or satisfy their own needs. Besides, they greatly contribute to retaining the richness in our national culture.