Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others thinks that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

It is often believed by some that the key measure of intelligence is the success. However, there are people who are of the opinion that there are other ways of measuring it. In my opinion, I believe that success is not a true indicator of brilliance, and ability to adapt and to learn from mistakes actually makes an individual smart.

First and foremost, not all the successful persons are brilliant. Success is often driven by hard work and the right opportunity. There are instances when a diligent person is unable to showcase his talent or skills due to dearth of opportunities, whereas a less intelligent person may succeed by grabbing an opportunity merely by his luck or following immoral means like bribing and cheating. Moreover, a change in the perspective of youth, emphasizing more on happiness and family time rather than working hard to achieve high position in a company, does not make them less intelligent. So, success is definitely not the best criteria to measure a person’s level of intelligence.

There are other factors such as an ability to cope with a challenge and adapting yourself to the situation that really helps an individual to succeed. It is often seen that resilient persons, whether they are intelligent or not, are more successful than others. They fail a number of times and bounce back with double efforts and eventually, they succeed. Learning from past mistakes also contributes towards this success because a person can only succeed in multiple attempts if he resorts to improving his abilities by working on his mistakes and shortfalls. For instance, a recent survey of 40 successful entrepreneurs in the U.K. revealed that resilience was a key to their success as they had failed many times before achieving the success.

In conclusion, success is an indicator of hard-work and resilience, and not the intelligence. In fact, being intelligent does not make a person successful. There are other factors like hard-work and dedication that contributes towards the way of success.