Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching the students to judge what is right and what is wrong so they can behave well. Others think that teachers should only teach academic subjects to students.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Distinguishing between the good and bad helps the student to learn good behaviour at an early age. Due to this, there are people who say that it is the responsibility of teachers to educate the students on behaviour while there are others who are of the opinion that teachers should stick to teaching academic subjects. This essay will discuss both the views and suggest why teachers should be allowed to train students on manners and behaviour.

Students spend most of there time in Schools. Owing to this, they develop a natural tendency of listening to there teachers as they see them like their second parent. Also, teachers are more aware of the student’s vulnerability as they see them interacting with others students on a daily basis. These factors make the teachers the most appropriate candidate for teaching the students the value of good behaviour. Moreover, a student remembers their teacher teaching throughout their life. For instance, I still remember my teacher explaining to me the importance of polishing my shoe. This makes me believe that teachers should be given the onus of inculcating good values in students.

On the other hand, there is a strong argument that teachers should concentrate only on teaching regular subjects. They support this by stating that the family is the place where kids learn to behave. There are studies that are done by various institutions that support this claim. For instance, it is most likely that a student will use abusive language if the father uses it at home.

It cannot be denied that home is the place which has the most influence on students. However, after taking into account the pivotal role of teachers in a student’s life. It cannot be justified that they should not impart good manners to their students.