We are witnessing traffic jams all across the cities in the world. Some people say that increasing prices of petrol will help in reducing traffic jams and pollution.

Do you agree or disagree? Also, give other possible solutions.

Traffic jams have become a major problem across the cities worldwide. In order to tackle this issue, there are suggestions from some people to increase the price of petrol. In my mind, I believe that inflating the fuel prices is not an effective solution.

Increasing the petrol prices will not have any significant impact to people belonging to the rich and middle-class section of society. They would still continue to use their vehicles for daily travel as paying extra for fuel won't drastically impact their savings. For instance, even a 50% increase in fuel price will not deter me from using my car for locomotion.

Moreover, the rise in fuel price will have a drastic impact on the prices of other commodities and services. This is because the prices of other items are directly dependent on the price of fuel. For instance, the cost of bus tickets will increase to cover the additional burden of fuel prices. Lastly, people will shift to using trains rather than the road for travelling. This will put huge pressure on the railways as the current infrastructure is not enough to take such a load.

However, building a rapid public transport system which is connected to the remotest part of the city could be an effective solution. Another solution would be to build a separate lane for heavy vehicles like buses and Trucks as these vehicles occupy huge space of the road and obstruct movement of other vehicles.

So, after considering the points which are discussed above it is very evident the increasing the fuel price is not the solution to fight the problem of traffics jam and pollution.