Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

There has been a spur of sporting events and all most every country participates in it. Some people believe that such tournaments play a vital role in mitigating international disputes and also contributes to the development of jingoism. However, I think these events contributes to more tensions rather than instilling harmony among nations.

Sports have become a place where warring countries project their power. Loosing in these events brings a feeling of embarrassment. Furthermore, the winning countries leave no stone unturned to disgrace the defeated country. For instance, a cricket match between the countries of India and Pakistan is no less than a war zone. There have been reports of players houses being vandalized by supporters of the defeated country to express their anger. Therefore, I don’t see how sports can unite countries.

On the other hand, sports can in some situation can help in curbing disputes between countries. Most of the time the citizen of disputed nations has never met. They are unaware of each other’s culture and ideology. So, they don’t realize that tensions are between the governments and not amongst them. This gap is filled when these people travel to each other’s country to watch the tournament and get to know each other thereby promoting peace and feeling a brotherhood. Hence, it can be said that tournaments also help in bring peace.

All in all, according to me, I strongly believe that sports cannot bring countries closer as I have never come across such a scenario is the real world.