Some people think that university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Whether university students have the freedom to pursue their favourite subjects remains a question of heated debate. Some people strongly advocate this idea, while others believe only science and technology related subjects are necessary. I will discuss both these views in my following essay.

On the one hand, allowing university students to choose their favourite major will bring them motivation and passion to make more progress. If they are forced to study subjects which are related to science and technology, they will be likely to lose interest and drop out of school. Therefore, it is totally absurb to place severe limitations on students to choose a particular subject which they find tedious and uninteresting. What’s more, in this day and age, it is believed that all subjects are of equal importance and can produce good citizens which will bring long-term effects to the society. For instance, science and technology can assist scientific discoveries and great technological advances, while arts and music can product talented artists who will promote a contry’s culture and heritage all over the globe.

On the other hand, subjects related to science and technology can bring students a lot of opportunities as in the modern world, every aspect of life requires a particular level of understanding about science and technology. Therefore, being equipped with scientific and technological skills will help students adapt to new situation and get ahead in the modern world.

To conclude, students should be given free choices about their subjects. However, it is a wise option to study subjects which can be utilized and popular in the future.