Some people today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The breakthroughs in modern technologies have enabled people to work and study without leaving their houses. It is argued that schools in current time provide no value and children are able to acquire knowledge from home and with aid of online education. I totally agree with the statement and believe that home tuition can offer many vital benefits.

If a pupil goes to school they have to spend time travelling to and from it. This means that if a schoolboy or schoolgirl stays at home in order to attend distant classes they can save time and devote it to useful activities. Therefore, being capable of receiving knowledge without attending lessons physically may be advantageous both for children and their parents’ budget. For example, according to a recent study conducted by Russian Bureau of Statistics an average amount of time a student spends on their way to and from school was 1 hour and 23 minutes. Thus, time is a crucial source and wasting it on such unimportant journeys can be exorbitantly expensive in the long run.

Moreover, studying from home allows children to devote more time to their relatives. Contemporary innovations such as online connection assisted human beings in seeing their friends and families more often, owing to the ability to work and study remotely. Proceeding from this, schoolchildren are able to gain knowledge not only from their online lessons, but also from their families when they are at home. For instance, the latest research from Moscow Sociology University concluded that children who spent more time with their relatives grew up more intelligent. In other words, keeping close contact within families grants major positive influence on students’ future.

In conclusion, abundance of benefits can be noticed in an online education process, namely it offers an opportunity to cut travel expenses and boosts interfamily relations.