The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people’s freedoms. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking ban has always been a controversial issue. It is argued that public smoking should be prohibited by the authorities despite the fact that it can violate human rights. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay I will provide arguments to support my point of view.

First of all, it is a common knowledge that smoking poses a danger to one's health. Moreover, it threatens not only smokers but also those who are nearby. It means that cigarette smoke enters the lungs of non-smokers and causes serious diseases such as heart attacks and lung cancer. According to projections of the American College of Cardiology, a nationwide ban of smoking could prevent as many as 154000 heart attacks each year. Thus, the health and the quality of life of a non-smoker population will improve.

Secondly, public smokers are bad role models for children as they present smoking as a vital process. It means that children may become interested in smoking, even if none of the family members are engaged in it. According to a survey conducted by Russian Medical University, about 67% of respondents acquired this bad habit in middle school, following the example of high school students. Hence, smoking does not bring any benefit, but is only a consequence of children's interest.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasize once again that smoking itself is very harmful for health, but public smoking poses a huge threat to the entire population. I believe that the authorities should think about banning it at the official level.