Some people today feel that their country should refrain from accepting large numbers of im-migrants. However, others believe that taking in individuals from other countries is the right thing to do. What is your opinion on this issue?

Globalization has made the world a smaller place and enabled people to settle down in desired country. Whether countries should open up for migrants or avoid migration has been debatable since the turn of the century. I believe that a calculated invitation to applicants who could bene-fit in growth of a country is one of the best approach. In this essay I will discuss both the views with examples of the United States of America and a report from the International employment association to support my ideas.

Many countries are built on the services of immigrants. The primary example of this is the USA. It has been observed that current population of United States comprises of 75 % immi-grants underlining the role played in prosperiety of the country. The diversity of population brings new skills, experiences and also extra zeal to succeed. In addition to this, it also provides opportunities to those who are deprived of resources to succeed in life. To illustrate this, many West European countries offer permanent residency to individuals who invest more that 2 mil-lion USD in their country , a mutually beneficial deal. Therefore we can conclusively state that inviting candidates who can improve country’s economy or reputation is a step in the right di-rection.

On the contrary, it is argued by some that allowing migrants into their country will hamper op-portunities to local people. The central reason for this is two fold, primarily, local jobs will be taken away by immigrants. There is a strong case for growing unemployment among native cit-izens where the immigration numbers are high. It is believed that the poor of the country are effected with many jobs given away to migrants at lower wages. Secondly, cultural differences. The clash of culture between two ethnicities often hamper harmony of the state or a country that could undermine and destroy economic and political institutions. For example, a report from IEA states that there is a direct correlation of unemployment rate and immigration percentage. Thus it is possible to say that there are justified reasons to argue against immigration policies.

To sum it up, although there is a case for disharmony and growing unemployment by immi-grants which can be mitigated and in some cases prevented by stringent laws, I suppose deserv-ing and eligible immigrants have to allowed for betterment of country and making world a bet-ter place to live in.