Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree

People consider prisoners as a boon to the society. However, there is a school of thought that, changes are inevitable for human beings and after spending life in a prison sinners become good Samaritans who could lead the young generations by advising the serious effects of committing crimes.

To begin with, common man’s concept about prison is that, it is a place occupied by evil people of the society but the scenario in the prison improved ahead of time and nowadays prisoners are supported by social workers and authorities by providing regular counselling, hands on training in skilled occupations and so on. To add more clarity, in one of the famous central jails in India enables the prisoners to get trained and engage in abundant activities such as farming, cooking, carpenting, and so on. The products made by the prisoners are sold in the local market and the profit share is divided and distributed among the prisoners bank account which helps them to start a business or save money for their family when they are relieved from jail.

Furthermore, the involvement of social activists and community workers in prisoner’s life brought immense changes in their personality. Irrespective of the crime they convicted, majority of the sinners confess as well as repent about their immature past crimes. As an example, a famous criminal who was jailed for inhuman rape and murder of young girl transformed in to a saint by the influence of the various classes and counselling provided by the social activist lectures and as a result he works among the youth and started an organisation which helps the people to understand about the serious effects of crime and methods to refrain our mind from engaging in crime.

However, some believes that a sinners does not change their offensive character and could influence the youth in engaging in various criminal activities such as robbery, murder and other social issues. Moreover, there are more chances of creating a community of goons and criminals and attracts younger generation by providing money, drugs and other lavish needs of the youth.

In conclusion, prisoners are also human beings as well as there a plenty of examples to showcase transformation of prisoners into good Samaritans. Although there are some people who continue to live in their criminal background but there are many who transformed in to new person and leading better life.