Many psychological experts unanimously suggest that not engaging in any activities for a long period of time might be the best way to reduce stress. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement and argue that there is another solution to this problem.

On the one hand, doing nothing for some time is a good way in response to stress. After working for hours on end, people need to take a certain amount of time to wind down and relax, which allows them to completely forget about the work, the stress and to organise ones’ thoughts. If individuals are unable to have time for their relaxation, they run a higher risk of coming down with psychological problems such as anxiety, stress or mental deterioration. Moreover, in the worst case, some people can not manage to deal with their illness, which might eventually lead to committing suicide. Hence, resting for a long time can be a good way to reduce stress.

On the other hand, resting is not the ultimate solution to this issue. It is believed that spending too much time alone and not engaging in any physical activities may result in laziness, which means that people would become unmotivated to do their jobs or finish their work in an unproductive way. In many cases, this solution fails to help people overcome stress but makes the situation worse; for example, some people after doing nothing for a long period of time and spending time alone tend to overthink and get stuck in their own chaotic thoughts because they are unable to share their emotion or talk with friends and family. Therefore, besides not engaging in any activities, people are suggested to go away with their families, or simply go out with their friends and have some little talks in order to forget all the daily tension.

In conclusion, I believe that the best way to deal with stress is to do nothing for a period of time and to try spending a certain amount of it to go on a trip and hang out with who people are close with.