Some say that the government should stop supporting the professional sports activities and the cultural performances, and instead begin supporting schools to encourage children to take up sports and arts. What is your opinion?

A large proportion of a nation's budget is allocated to support athletes and cultural performers. However, some people believe that the government should stop spending for these activities and instead focus on supporting schools and encourage students to take up sports and arts. I strongly agree with this argument for three main reasons.

Firsty, the expenditures to support professional athletes and cultural performers is tremendously expensive. Although they bring honor to their country, only a small number of people benefit from it. To illustrate my point, supporting athletes in international completion costs an arm and a leg even if the chance of getting the trophy is very slim. It would be most beneficial if the government use their money in providing and developing gyms and theater stages in schools as this is a sure guarantee of a fun and productive experience for all students.

Secondly, it is not necessary for a country to join all kinds of sports and arts competition as they are not really a big deal for a nation’s pride. The only international game I consider vital is the Olympic since this bring unity and symbolizes peace for the whole world. If they only focus on this event, they will be able to train their athletes very well and also save a lot of money.

Lastly, if the government focus more on promoting sports and arts in schools, majority of the students will be able to develop sportsmanship and build self-confidence that can definitely help them once they graduate and start working. It will also help a number of students who are struggling with pear pressure and are doing bad vices as these subjects this will divert their attentions especially that they now have places and activities to do during their free time.

All in all, supporting professional sports and cultural performers is a very expensive and not always an assurance that they will bring pride to one's nation. It would rather be best to support the young students since they hold their country's future success.