Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects especially at the primary level.
Do you agree or disagree?
It is argued that the arts are just as valid as other subjects, especially for primary school
children. This essay agrees with that statement and will first discuss how some students
flourish when studying music, art or drama, and then talk about how maths and science
are not crucial at the primary level.
Not everyone has a talent for mathematics, physics or languages and many students
only do their best work when they can be creative. In fact, many pupils simply cannot
focus on traditional subjects unless they are expressing themselves creatively through
painting, song or dance. Take Gillian Lynne, for example, who at a young age was told
she had a learning difficulty, but in fact could not learn without moving her body. Gillian,
a typical kinaesthetic learner, went on to become a world-famous choreographer, but
would never have been a success without the encouragement of her dance teacher.
Others would disagree with this view and say that arts-related subjects stop young
children from spending enough time on the more ‘serious’ subjects and passing
important exams. However, until children get to high school, it is more important for
them to have a good attitude towards education than pass tests. For instance, in
Finland, elementary school children do no tests at all and focus on all disciplines qually. This allows children to choose the subjects they prefer and has been shown to
be one of the leading factors in their having the best education system in the world.
In conclusion, painting, dance and acting should be given equal status in the primary
classroom because they allow artistic children to learn more effectively and it is unwise
to put pressure on children to pass maths and science exams at such a young age.